Blog: My November in Books

23319015_1530041427088493_4897820902453455231_nI have been reading and writing a lot these days — one of the greatest perks of being between jobs. Despite being desperate to be employed again, I am enjoying this time. Loads of books. Loads of blog-hopping. Loads of books again. No complaints at all. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am practically broke, but how can I complain when books are my magic carpet! And that reminds me of this passage from Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451.

Most of us canโ€™t rush around, talking to everyone, know all the cities of the world, we havenโ€™t time, money or that many friends. The things youโ€™re looking for, Montag, are in the world, but the only way the average chap will ever see ninety-nine per cent of them is in a book.

This is how my November looked in books:

Non-Fiction:
You Will Not Have My Hate by Antoine Leiris, Sam Taylor (Contributor) โ€“ Five Stars
Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green โ€“ Five Stars
Sunrise, Sunset: 52 Weeks of Awe & Gratitude by Kim Weiss โ€“ Three Stars
Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body by Roxane Gay โ€“ Five Stars
The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts by Gary Chapman โ€“ Five Stars
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling โ€“ Three Stars

Fiction:
Undelivered Letters by J. Alchem โ€“ Two Stars
I Liked My Life by Abby Fabiaschi โ€“ Five Stars
Goodbye, Vitamin by Rachel Khong โ€“ Five Stars
Maidless in Mumbai by Payal Kapadia – 3.5 Stars
Alone in Berlin by Hans Fallada, Michael Hofmann (Translator) โ€“ Five Stars
Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome โ€“ Five Stars

Poetry:
Still Can’t Do My Daughter’s Hair by William Evans โ€“ Three Stars
Sea of Strangers by Lang Leav โ€“ Three Stars
The Sun and Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur โ€“ Three Stars
Vertigo: There Is a Secret Written in the Stars and in the Mountains by Analog De Leon โ€“ Two Stars

Childrenโ€™s Literature:
Ten Cents a Pound by Nhung Tran-Davies, Josรฉe Bisaillon (Illustrator) โ€“ Five Stars
If a Horse Had Words by Kelly Cooper, Lucy Eldridge (Illustrator) โ€“ Five Stars
Polar Bear Postman by Seigo Kijima โ€“ Five Stars
Happy Birthday! by Mamoru Suzuki โ€“ Five Stars
Kuma-Kuma Chan’s Travels by Kazue Takahashi โ€“ Five Stars
The Snowbear by Sean Taylor, Claire Alexander (Illustrator) โ€“ Five Stars

YA Fiction:
Turtles All the Way Down by John Green โ€“ Five Stars
The Temptation of Adam by Dave Connis โ€“ Three Stars
The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli โ€“ Four Stars

21740031_1482000091892627_2288840640534506545_nI am channelising my innerย Sybill Trelawney to see if a job offer is on its way, and I have even asked the centaurs to read the stars for me. I hope I would hear from them soon, and I am curious to know how my reading and writing pattern would evolve after I start a full-time job. In spite of the anxieties, I am asking myself to enjoy this precious time.

And, and, and may your December be filled with light moments and bright memories. ๐Ÿ™‚

How did your November go? What was your favourite read? What do you recommend for me?

Images courtesy: Buddha Doodles

24 thoughts on “Blog: My November in Books

    1. Hello Cookie Crumbs (MeePeeVee), I loved ‘Turtles All The Way Down’. Totally! I haven’t written about it because I didn’t feel like writing about it. Some books do that to me. They are way too close, so it’s hard to talk about it, lest the feelings might be diluted. I am a sucker for YA, and been OD’ing on it a lot. I loved Davis. Quite a character he was. And I could relate to Aza so well. Her self-absorption was so mine. From your Goodreads rating I understand it was so-so for you. What did you think of it? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Ah I know what you mean ๐Ÿ™‚ Some books are just… in-describable (for lack of a better word)

        I hate how myeah Turtles was for me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I was determined to love it, I really was.
        I’ve been fascinated with Green’s writing thus far, but this didn’t do it for me. I loved Aza and her hang-ups and her shenanigans. I loved the best friend (especially so), the mother, and the potential boyfriend and his struggles too. But overall, I was like “that’s it? um okay.”

        I love how much you read. Is it terrible to hope you won’t go to work so I can live vicariously through you?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. ‘That’s it? Um. Okay.’ I understand that. Some of my friends were underwhelmed. The book has made me think of how I am actually in a curious-case-of-Benjamin-Button. I am beginning to like YA and Children’s Literature more as though there I don’t have to adult. ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ was 4-stars for me and ‘Turtles…’ were 5-stars. Think of that. Sigh! And I am with you on John Green’s writing. The man is really talented.

        Awwww! I don’t want to go to work. I wish my bank account was fat. Unfortunately, it isn’t. So the number of books I read is drastically going to go down. However, I am thinking of ways to prioritise reading and writing. Like ignoring colleagues during breaks. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Your blog is oh-so-full of life. Loved, loved it. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  1. I love the combination of reads you had in November. Also, that quotation speaks to me as well. I hope you have a job offer soon, although it will probably interfere with your reading and writing. However, it will be nice for funding new acquisitions. One of my favourite reads for November was a reread, a childhood favourite, Betty Smithโ€™s A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. Itโ€™s been about ten years since I last reread it, but Francie is just as bookish and smart and determined as I remember her. Happy Decembering to you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh! I always wanted to know what readers think when they revisit their childhood favourites. I was not a reader until I was 27. So I have been curious about how childhood favourites walk into an adult’s life. I am glad you enjoyed that book and I want to read it too. Certainly adding it to my TBR. Thank you, Buried in Print. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow you had a good reading month in Nov. Lots of books! I think my favorite novel in Nov. was Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie — it’s a pretty intense read but interesting too. I hope we both get jobs soon. I interviewed for one on Monday and I’m supposed to find out by the end of the week, but now I’m losing hope that I’ll get it. I don’t speak French which they said was an asset for the position, ugh. Are you sending out many applications & resumes? Good luck to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! Please don’t lose hope, Susan. I am sure something is going to work out well for both of us. ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t read ‘Home Fire’ by Kamila Shamsie. I sure want to read it soon.

      Good luck to you too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Goodness, you’ve got through a ton of books there! I’m glad you’re finding a positive way to enjoy your time but I hope something great comes up on the job front soon – it’s always worrying and frustrating to be unemployed even though the extra time is a luxury. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Great reading Month. I strongly recommend the short story โ€œThe Ghetto Dogโ€ by Isiah Spiegel, it is very moving, set in the dark days of the ลรณdลบ Ghetto in Nazi occupies Poland. It is just an amazing work. I listed twice to Lauren Becall read the story, my post contains a link to the reading. I am recommending this as as, in part, want to see your reaction to it, listening time is about 30 minutes

    https://rereadinglives.blogspot.com/2017/11/the-ghetto-dog-short-story-set-in-lodz.html

    Oh, as a Dog lover, you Will be very moved by this.

    Good luck on job search

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Deepika, I just responded to your comment, which made me think more deeply sbout โ€œThe Ghetto Dogโ€. It is truly amazing. I Will listen again, it might be a long time before a story moved me this much.

    Like

  6. You seem to have had a fantastic November! Iโ€™m glad for you, and also, jealous. Just today, I borrowed / begged for Turtles All The Way Down from a student of mine, the same one who lent me Wonder โ€“ itโ€™s such a pleasure to have a bookworm in the class. I see your 5 stars and I dive straight in. Meanwhile, wish you have just as a bookish a December. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That student of yours is precious, Priya. I am now anxious; you are reading ‘Turtles All The Way Down’. I so want you to like it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And you have a great bookish, bloggish December too. โค

      Like

  7. So many excellent books, Deepika! I am crossing all my fingers that 2018 brings yiu a wonderful job! ๐Ÿ™‚ But it is nice until then to get to read all your writing! โค I think we need to get you some truly excellent poetry, did the new Kaur underwhelm you? I have been trying to recreate my reading list from this year, I will start a real reading journal on real paper for 2018, or I will forget all I've read again grrr ๐Ÿ˜€ But I know this month will be wonderful because will be buddy reading โค All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yaaaaay to buddy-reading! I am excited, Bina. *does a happy gig* ๐Ÿ’–

      I want to read some nice poetry. I have just started Sharanya Manivannan’s poetry ‘The Altar of The Only World’ and I am loving it. I want more like that.

      Some job offers are in the offing, Bina. I want something to work out for me soon. I want money to buy books. ๐Ÿ™ˆ

      Thank you for reading all my posts! Thank you! Hugs! โค๐Ÿพ

      Like

I love reading your comments! :)

